Announcing the winners of the 2023 CSME-NDC

We are excited to announce the winners of this year’s National Design Competition! The winning team in each category will receive $750. Congratulations to the winners, and thank you to all the entrants. Details of each project will be posted soon to the Past Winners page.

Sustainability Award
Project: Fine Cut - Accessible Printing Press
Team: Hosam Rezk, Mohamed Alshehri, Beshr Ibrik, Hazem Elkhaiat
McMaster University
Commercial Readiness Award
Project: Stretch 1.0 - Hobbyist Tensile Testing Machine
Team: Cole Elford, Oliver Kiessling
McMaster University
Technical Excellence Award
Project: Fulcra - Orthosis for Lower Back Pain
Team: Maria Calderbank, Emilie Davignon, Louis Tan, Roseline Theroux

Thank you to the judging team:

  • Dr. Grant McSorley (CSME NDC Chair, Assistant Prof, University of Prince Edward Island),
  • Dr. Dan Romanyk (CSME Chair of Student Affairs, Assistant Prof, University of Alberta),
  • Dr. Aman Usmani FCSME (CSME Chair of Engineering Analysis & Design, Principal Consultant, Kinetrics Inc)

As well as the Université de Sherbrooke for their generous sponsorship